Where Can I Take a DOD Information Assurance (IA) Training Course?

Certification in Information Assurance (IA) is a mandatory requirement for security personnel with privileged access to monitoring, system control and administration functions. This aimed at providing effective security safeguards to data and user authentication mechanisms. The requirements are in compliance with FISMA regulations as well as the Department of Defense Directives 8140 and 8570.

The DoD 8140 is designed to train, certify, and manage IA personnel using an enterprise-wide solution. DoD-approved baseline requirements provide guidelines and procedures for training. In turn, IA certified security personnel help bolster information integrity and availability through controls, risk assessment, and management. The adoption of industry-wide standards circumvents ambiguity.

The DoD information assurance workforce incorporates contractors, military officers, Non-Appropriated Fund (NAF) personnel, local nationals, and civilians. The duties may be carried out as an embedded role, full or part-time basis. A six-month time limit applies to all personnel when it comes to obtaining the baseline certification.

The directives stipulate that all contractors must hold the IA certification before resuming the contract work. Also referred to as the Information Assurance Workforce Improvement Program, the DoD 8570 ensures that organizations in particular sectors apply risk management mechanisms to information systems.

IA Certification Options

From CISSP and Network+ to CASP and Security+, there is a course for every baseline IA certification requirement. The available training solutions serve the aims of the Department of Defense's directives by providing a uniform level of competency and the standardization of minimum skill sets. Some of the available areas of certification include technical level 1 (IAT1), which covers A+ CE, Network+, and SSCP. The primary levels of specialization are Technical (IAT 1-3), Management (IAM 1-3), CND, and IASAE I – III.

The Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP) training and certification covers a comprehensive set of information security aspects, including, but not limited to:

  • Security engineering
  • Communications and network security
  • Asset security
  • Security assessment and testing
  • Identity and access management


CISSP is aimed at information security professionals with at least five years working experience in various CISSP CBK domains. It is available under Technical Level III (IAT 3), Management Level II and III as well as the CND-SP Manager Level. The training is ideal for individuals working in various information security capacities, including security systems engineers, consultants, auditors, managers and directors. CISSP certified personnel help organizations protect IT systems from wide-ranging threats. The certification enables professionals to stay up to date with current trends concerning technologies, IT security practices, regulatory directives and emerging threats. This is achieved through ongoing training requirements.

CompTIA Network+

The CompTIA Network+ certification plays a fundamental role in the information assurance (IA) training and certification. It validates the skills and knowledge of entry-level network practitioners. Infotec offers Network+ under Technical Level I (IAT 1). Certified professionals have the skills needed to manage, troubleshoot, and configure both wireless and wired networks. In addition, they have the capacity to maintain network documentation, identify limitations, and implement protocols as well as standards.

CompTIA Security+

The CompTIA Security+ certification validates a broad range of information security skill sets, including implementing risk mitigation mechanisms, the ability to identify threats, troubleshoot events and provide infrastructure security. Information assurance personnel need to maintain high levels of awareness when it comes to regulations.

The certification is ideal for professionals with at least two years working experience. Infotec offers the Security+ CE under the Technical Level II (IAT 2) and Management Level I (IAM 1). The course content covers the implementation of security configuration parameters on a wide array of technologies and network systems, such as web security gateways and VPN concentrators.

Infotec: DoD Information Assurance (IA) Training Location

Infotec provides access to cost-effective IA certification and training solutions. The platform makes it easier to take advantage of the expertise of training coordinators and consultants. You can attend boot camps or take exams in various locations, including online, at your own premises, or Infotec facilities.

All instructor-led courses include follow-on support, free training retakes, course materials, and a certificate of completion. Instructor-led classes are conducted online, offsite, or public schedule. Participants of virtual training gain access to live classes. This enables interaction with instructors from any location.

Infotec employs well-trained instructors with years of experience in various IT fields. Class sizes are kept small to ensure better training experiences and outcomes. The flexible location arrangements are supported by an expansive Information Assurance (IA) course and certification catalog. Contact Infotec today to learn more about this exciting opportunity.

Connect with Infotec today!

For more information about Infotec or any of our programs click here: http://www.infotectraining.com/.

About the Author